This delicious vegan eggnog is free of eggs, dairy, gluten, and refined sugar! It’s paleo friendly as well! A must for the holidays!
This is my absolute favorite time of year! The holidays bring with it so many wonderful things—family togetherness, joy, generosity, and let’s not forget about all the good food! There are so many delicious holiday flavors that can only be found seasonally and if you ask me, It’s really a shame that we typically wait until Thanksgiving to enjoy pumpkin-y things and Christmas for gingerbread and eggnog. These are flavors which deserve to be enjoyed all year round, don’t you agree?!
Well, until a few years ago, I hadn’t even thought to make my own eggnog. It’s the stuff my family had always bought at the store. But the dairy-free options are limited and the ones that are available are seriously a poor excuse for eggnog. They taste nothing like the real thing, are pricey, and just plain disgusting!
I started off revamping traditional eggnog to make it dairy-free. My Dairy-Free Eggnog uses eggs, just like the real deal, but is made with dairy-free milk. It’s a cooked version too, unlike traditional eggnog made with raw eggs. But you have to be careful not to heat the eggnog too quickly or you could end up with cooked egg pieces in the final product. I know, so gross.
There had to be a better way, and I’m happy to say I found one! This vegan version omits the eggs and uses a little bit of starch to thicken instead. What you get is a rich and delicious eggnog that I dare say tastes very similar, if not even better, than the real deal. The rum extract is a must to get that authentic flavor too, so don’t omit it if you want a traditional tasting eggnog.
When your eggnog loving family prefers your healthier dairy-free, vegan version to the traditional store-bought stuff, you know you have a winner! I hope you give this recipe a try and enjoy it as much as we did!!
You may also enjoy these similar recipes: